Skip to Content

DGR submission

Explore the ways that Ontario Power Generation maintains transparency, precision and inclusion in our regulatory submissions around the Deep Geologic Repository (DGR) Project.

OPG’s DGR submission

On April 14, 2011, the Environmental Impact Statement (EIS), Preliminary Safety Report (PSR) and supporting documents for OPG’s proposed Deep Geologic Repository for low and intermediate level waste (L&ILW) were submitted to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) for the Joint Review Panel.

The EIS consolidates and summarizes all aspects of the Environmental Assessment (EA) studies, which include descriptions of EA methods, the DGR Project, and existing environment, along with an assessment of likely environmental effects (including cumulative effects), discussions of the EA follow-up program and the community engagement program. It also includes the Human Health Assessment. To view a summary of this report read the EIS Summary Report.

The Preliminary Safety Report (PSR) presents the safety case that demonstrates that the DGR is safe to construct, operate and decommission, and that it will provide safe long-term management of OPG's L&ILW.

The report:

  • Demonstrates how the DGR will comply with the applicable regulatory requirements.
  • Provides a description of the DGR site and its geological characteristics, preliminary DGR design, site preparation, construction and operation.
  • Shows the results of safety assessments.

Additional documents and reports from OPG’s DGR Submission are available on the OPG document archive.

Technical reports

Detailed technical reports, such as the Site Characterization Technical Reports or Safety Assessment Post-Closure Documents, which support the submission documents, are available for review on the project development page.

Paper copies of the DGR Submission documents are available through the Bruce County Public Library (Kincardine, Port Elgin, Walkerton and Bruce County (Saugeen Shores).

Sets are also available for viewing at the Kincardine Municipal Administration Centre and the County of Bruce Administration Building in Walkerton.

Additional hard copies of the EIS, PSR and EIS Summary are available for viewing at the following public libraries:

  • Chesley
  • Ripley
  • Southampton
  • Teeswater
  • Tobermory
  • Wiarton

Hard copies of the EIS Summary are available at municipal buildings in:

  • Arran-Elderslie
  • Brockton
  • Huron-Kinloss
  • Saugeen Shores
  • South Bruce
  • South Bruce Peninsula
  • Northern Bruce Peninsula