DRAINAGE BASIN: Ottawa River
NEAREST POPULATION CENTRE: Deep River (21 km southeast)
IN SERVICE DATES:
UNITS 1-2 - July 6, 1950
UNIT 3 - Aug. 12, 1950
UNIT 4 - Aug. 27, 1950
UNIT 5 - Oct. 1, 1950
UNIT 6 - Nov. 5, 1950
UNIT 7 - Dec. 13, 1950
UNIT 8 - Feb. 1951
BUILT BY: Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario
ASSET TRANSFERRED TO ONTARIO POWER GENERATION: April 1, 1999
NUMBER OF UNITS: 8
CAPACITY: 429 MW
Des Joachims Generating Station (GS), which straddles the border of Ontario and Quebec, has harnessed the power of the Ottawa River since 1950, producing clean and renewable hydroelectricity for nearly a half million homes.
Named after the Joachims family who owned a lot of land in the district, Des Joachims (or Da Swisha as it is called) is the largest station on Ottawa River, followed by Otto Holden GS, Chenaux GS and Chats Falls GS. Nearly 700,000 cubic meters of concrete was used to build the dam and associated structures. That’s enough concrete to build a sidewalk all the way across Canada. Des Joachims GS was officially opened on June 28, 1950 by Ontario Premier Leslie Frost. Check out this Our Stories feature for more info on the station’s unique name and history.
As with the operations at all of our generating stations, OPG is considerate of the environment and other users of the waterways. Our technicians manage water levels and flows according to approved water management plans. The amount of water available for generation depends on environmental needs, minimum and maximum water level requirements, and precipitation.
De Joachims GS generates clean, renewable electricity 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, and is part of OPG’s clean energy portfolio which is more than 99 per cent free of greenhouse gas and smog emissions.